Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

New York, NY (Violin Concerto No.2 “The American Four Seasons”)

December 8, 2017

More Info

The acclaimed new-music ensemble celebrates its 40th anniversary with two new works and a classic by Carnegie Hall’s Richard and Barbara Debs Composer’s Chair Philip Glass. Bryce Dessner’s Réponse Lutosławski is the creative fruit of his study of Lutosławski’s string orchestra piece Musique funèbre. Glass’s work is an homage as well: a daring take on Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, with synthesizer replacing the harpsichord and a rollicking finale with a rock ‘n’ roll sensibility.

PHILIP GLASS Violin Concerto No 2 ‘American Four Seasons’
BRYCE DESSNER Réponse Lutosławski New York Premiere

Carnegie Hall: Zankel Hall
American Composers Orchestra
Timothy Fain, Violin; George Manahan, conductor


December 8, 2017


Carnegie Hall, 881 7th Ave, New York, NY 10019, USA
722 7th Ave
New York, NY United States