Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Brighton, UK (Glassworks)

January 21

For more info and tickets here

A collaboration between visual artist Kathy Hinde and Brighton Philharmonic in a concert celebrating winter landscapes and birdsong: with passionate Jonny Greenwood and minimalist master Philip Glass.

Percussion takes a starring role in this concert, in music that celebrates avant garde, minimalist, rock and jazz – and cool Scandinavia.  Norwegian composer Rolf Wallin’s Twine (for marimba and xylophone) celebrates streams of sound, while John Luther Adams’ Drums of Winter (four tom-tom players) arises from traditional Inupiat and Gwich’in dance music. Also inspired by the Arctic is the great Finnish composer Rautavaara; his celebrated Concerto for Birds and Orchestra evokes Northern Finland’s marsh, mountains and wilderness.

We also weave in Radiohead Jonny Greenwood’s There Will be Blood Suite for strings, and Philip Glass’ sensational Glassworks for ensemble. An epoch-making work of minimalism, it even borrows a melody from Jean Sibelius (another Finn) in the second movement, Floe.  Throughout the concert we’ll be refencing birdsong and the wonderful work of audio-visual artist Kathy Hinde, whose work grows from a partnership between nature and technology expressed through sound, sculpture, image and light.

Sian Edwards: conductor

Joanna MacGregor: director/piano/keyboards 

Kathy Hinde: visual projections

Matthew Fairclough: sound projection

Beautiful World    

  • Rolf Wallin: Twine

  • John Luther Adams: Songbirdsongs

  • Philip Glass: Glassworks

  • John Luther Adams: Drums of Winter

  • Jonny Greenwood: There Will Be Blood Suite

  • Einojuhani Rautavaara: Cantus arcticus: Concerto for Birds and Orchestra

Tickets: £39.50 / 33 / 27 / 19 / 12.50


January 21