Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cambridge, MA (Piano Sonata NEW ENGLAND PREMIERE

May 13

More info and tickets here

Maki Namekawa: Piano Works by Glass, Jarrett, Hisaishi, Ziporyn
Music by Joe Hisaishi , Philip Glass, Keith Jarrett, and Evan Ziporyn
Friday, May 13, 2022 / 7:30pm
MIT Kresge Auditorium

48 Massachusetts Ave W16, Cambridge, MA 02139

Maki Namekawa, a leading pianist dedicated to exploring new works by composers on a global scale, comes to MIT’s Kresge Auditorium to perform the US premiere of Joe Hisaishi’s Piano Sonata No. 1, Philip Glass’s Piano Sonata (which was composed specifically for her), Keith Jarrett’s Ritual, and the world premiere of Evan Ziporyn’s “Music for ‘365 Stories I Want To Tell You Before We Both Die’ – Part One”. 

The Hisaishi sonata was co-commissioned by MIT’s Center for Art, Science & Technology and Ars Electronica Center. Hisaishi, renowned for his over 100 film scores, longtime collaboration with director Hayao Miyazaki, and video game score for Ni no Kuni, has partnered with Namekawa and ​​her husband, the conductor Dennis Russell Davies, on several piano compositions.