Loading Events

« All Events

LIVESTREAM: Maki Namekawa and Dennis Russell Davies Glass 85

January 31 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

For info and tickets click here

Philip Glass 85

Tribute to Philip – An evening of piano music composed by Philip Glass for Dennis Russell Davies and Maki Namekawa. Live from Deep Space 8K at the Ars Electronica Center in Linz with digital real-time visualizations by Cori O’Lan.
On MO 31.1. is the 85th birthday of Philip Glass, one of the most important composers of our time. In the successful career and extensive work of Philip Glass, a name appears time and again who has shaped the music world here in Europe: Dennis Russell Davies, as the conductor of many European orchestras, including here in Austria, the RSO in Vienna and the Bruckner Orchestra in Linz, and currently as chief conductor in Brno and Leipzig.

Dennis Russell Davies – solo
6 Etudes for Piano (1994)
No 1… 4:10
No 2… 5:33
No 3… 4:11
No 4… 4:51
No 5… 4:35
No 6… 9:16

Maki Namekawa – solo
piano sonata… 27:30

Maki Namekawa and Dennis Russell Davies – two pianos
Four Movements for Two Pianos
Movement I… 6:08
Movement II… 5:44
Movement III… 7:14
Movement IV… 5:35


January 31
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm