Music in Twelve Parts

(1971-1974) about 4 hours

Music by Philip Glass

Philip Glass Ensemble (voice, winds, keyboards)

New York Town’s Hall, 1974

Music in Twelve Parts, written by Philip Glass between 1971 and 1974, is a deliberate, encyclopedic compendium of some techniques of repetition the composer had been evolving since the mid 1960s. It holds an important place in Glass’s repertory – not only from a historical vantage point (as the longest and most ambitious concert piece for the Philip Glass Ensemble) but from a purely aesthetic standard as well, because Music in Twelve Parts is both a massive theoretical exercise and a deeply engrossing work of art.

— Tim Page

Dunvagen Music Publishers