Concert of the Sixth Sun
Music by Philip Glass, Daniel Medina de la Rosa, and Roberto Carillo Cocio.
Release date August 27, 2013


Orange Mountain Music OMM0090


1. Deer Flowers 10:53
2. Wise Man 10:44
3. Hikuri 9:46
4. Falling Rocks 7:55


Orange Mountain Music proudly presents THE CONCERT OF THE SIXTH SUN. In 2012, Philip Glass journeyed into the mountains of Mexico to interact with the Wixarika people. This new recording is the result of that encounter.

Philip Glass’ passion to unravel the mystery of what music really is has been present throughout his entire career. He has expressed this passion through his travels around the world engaging with musicians of different ethnic and cultural backgrounds and creating new music with them. In this recording of the Concert of the Sixth Sun, he collaborates with his Wixarika friends allowing us a glimpse of their indigenous world of mystery and spiritual beauty.


Philip Glass, piano
Daniel Medina de la Rosa, violin
Roberto Carillo Cocio, guitar

Recorded, edited, mixed by Leonardo Heiblum
Album Produced by Leonardo Heiblum and Don Christensen
Mastered by Michael Riesman
Recording Assistants: Tamara Ciriza, Emiliano Gonzalez de Leon, Alan Heiblum
Recorded at Centro Cultural de Realn Catorce in San Luis Potese MEXICO December 21, 2012
Concert conceived by Victor Sanchez
Production Advisor: Mauricio Gonzalez Gomez
Live sound by Arcadio Hernandez Duarte
Production Assistant: Maria Teresa Aguilera Trejo
Translation Services: Marimar Pereda, Massimo Merulla, Gilberto Ladron de Guevara
Photographs by Luis Enrique Aguilar Perada, Victor Sanchez, Heriberto Rodriguez, Julian de Almeida, Alan Heiblum, Tamara Ciriza, and Leonardo Heiblum

Philip Glass’ music is published by Dunvagen Music Publishers

Executive Producers:
Philip Glass, Kurt Munkacsi, and Don Christensen