Life: A Journey Through Time



Music by Philip Glass.
Arranged for orchestra by Michael Riesman.


Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music led by musical director and conductor Marin Alsop, Richard and Mary Solari & Jack and Peggy Baskin

July 29, 2006 at Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music in Santa Cruz, California (USA) by Cabrillo Festival Orchestra conducted by Marin Alsop.

Multimedia piece for full orchestra in seven sections, adapted from works originally composed by Philip Glass for smaller ensembles or solo instruments, and now presented for the first time in arrangements by Michael Riesman for full orchestra, for presentation with visuals by National Geographic photographer Frans Lanting choreographed by Alexander V. Nichols.

Life: A Journey Through Time is the culmination of National Geographic photographer Frans Lanting’s six-year journey of photographic discovery that parallels new scientific insights about the evolution of life on Earth. The result is a lyrical interpretation of life on our planet, from its earliest beginnings to its present diversity. From prehistoric trilobites to giant tortoises, delicate jellies to spiny octopus trees, and from erupting volcanoes to shimmering coral reefs.

The sources from which the music was adapted are:

Section I, Elements (first part): Parts of Secret Agent and Secret Agent Ending from film score for Christopher Hampton’s film The Secret Agent.

Section I, Elements (second part): Parts of Seward Sanatorium and Mina on the Terrace from film score for Tod Browning’s film Dracula.

Section II, Into the Air: Parts of The Somnambulist and She Took the Path from Les Enfants Terribles.

Section III, Out of the Sea: Brazil (edited) from Orion.

Section IV, On Land: Parts of a new untitled piano piece; then part of film score for Shirin Neshat’s short film Passage.

Section V, Beginnings: Parts of Les Enfants Terribles Overture and Paul’s End from Les Enfants Terribles.

Section VI, Out of the Dark: Parts of Promenade in the Garden followed by part of Belle Goes to the Castle from La Belle et La BĂȘte.

Section VII, Planet of Life: Film score for Peter Greenaway’s short film The Man in the Bath (edited, with a coda by Michael Riesman).

Dunvagen Music Publishers