Aguas da Amazonia

Music Composed by Philip Glass
Performed by Uakti
Marco Antônio Guimarães, Director

All songs published by Dunvagen Music Publishers, Inc. (ASCAP).
Licensed from Decca Music Group Ltd., a division of Universal Music.
Originally released as Point Music 289 464 062-2.
℗ and © 2006 Orange Mountain Music.


Orange Mountain Music 0026


1. Tiquie River (1:42)
2. Japura River (4:44)
3. Purus River (7:44)
4. Negro River (4:20)
5. Madeira River (3:59)
6. Tapajos River (2:49)
7. Paru River (4:25)
8. Xingu River (5:03)
9. Amazon River (7:26)

10. Metamorphosis I (12:32)


Years ago when I first met Uakti, I saw their music and performance as a unique and beautiful contribution to the world of new and experimental music. I became friends with musicians; especially I came to admire Marco’s extraordinary ear for color and composition. I was therefore very pleased when some years later they proposed a collaboration. It would be a dance score for the ballet company Grupo Corpo of their city, Belo Horizonte. This CD represents a true melding of my music with their sensibilities. For me, it is a delight and a pleasure to hear the final result.

— Philip Glass

Uakti (pronounced wah-ke-chee) is one of the world’s most exciting and unique musical ensembles. The modern Brazilian group has been praised for its fearless fusion of wide-ranging musical styles, from Classical to New Age to World Music. Their name is taken from an Amazon legend: Uakti was a huge creature with holes all over his body, and whenever he ran through the forest, the wind passing through his body made wonderful and intriguing sounds.

Like the legendary creature, Uakti makes unbelievable sounds. The magic of their music starts with the construction of their own exotic instruments using everyday materials: pipe, glasses, metal, rocks, rubber, and even water. For Uakti, anything can produce sound.


All music composed by Philip Glass.
Adapted for Uakti by Marco AntônioGuimarães.
Uakti’s instruments created by Marco Antônio Guimarães.

Performed by Uakti: Marco Antônio Guimarães: artistic direction and arrangements; strings. Paulo Sérgio dos Santos: percussion. Décio de Souza Ramos Filho: percussion. Artur Andrés Ribeiro: woodwinds. Special Guests: Regina Stela Amaral: keyboards. Michael Riesman: keyboards.
Tiquiê River: keyboards I – II. Japurá River: grand pan, marimba d’angelim, glass marimba I – II – III, Uakti flute, keyboards. Purus River: keyboards, marimba d’angelim, glass marimba, grand pan, flutes in C I – II – III – IV, piano, trilobyte, egg. Negro River: keyboards, grand pan, inclined pan, pakawaj, marimba d’angelim, flutes in C I – II – III – IV, glass marimba, flute with prepared mouthpiece. Madeira River: keyboards, gig, glass marimba I – II – III, grand pan, xylophone. Tapajós River: glass marimba I – II, grand pan, inclined pan, keyboards, tambourine. Paru River: marimba d’angelim, glass marimba, grand pan. Xingu River: grand pan, inclined pan, tambourine, glass marimba, marimba d’angelim. Amazon River: keyboards, big pipe, borel, chori, glass marimba, marimba d’angelim, grand pan, inclined pan, condensator drums I – II, xylophone, flute with prepared mouthpiece, snare drum. Metamorphosis I: piano, grand pan, inclined pan. glass marimba, marimba d’angelim, chori, flute in G, flute in C, caxixis, acoustic guitars I – II, piccolo, tabla, iarragunga, trilá, big pipe, tambourine.
All numbers except Metamorphosis I were commissioned by Grupo Corpo Brazilian Dance Theater and performed as “Seven or Eight Pieces for a Ballet”. All rights for dance for all numbers except Metamorphosis I reserved by Grupo Corpo Brazilian Dance Theater.

Produced by Michael Riesman. Executive Producers: Philip Glass, Kurt Munkacsi, Rory Johnston. Recorded at Polifonia Studios, Belo Horizonte, Brazil, December 1993*. Engineer: Tarso Senra. Assistant: Júlio Venturini. Mixed at The Looking Glass Studios, New York City, January 1994*. Engineers: John Billingsiey, Tucker Burnes. Assistants: Ryoji Hata, Steef van de Gevel. *except Metamorphosis I recorded January 1999, mixed February 1999. Mastered by Michael Riesman at The Looking Glass Studios, New York City, May 1999.

Creative Direction: Penny Bennett. Art Direction and Design: Carla Leighton. Package Illustration: Anastasia Vasilakis. Photos: Fernando Fiúza.