Alter Ego performs Philip Glass

Music by Philip Glass


Orange Mountain Music OMM0034


1. Music in Similar Motion
2. Strung Out
3. Piece in the Shape of a Square
4. Gradus
5. Music in Contrary Motion
6. 600 Lines
7. How Now


During the 1960’s and 70’s Philip Glass established himself as a leading artistic voice by creating a new musical language in the downtown loft spaces of New York’s Soho district.

Forty years later, Glass’s early revolutionary music continues to appeal to younger generations as evidenced by Orange Mountain Music’s release, Alter Ego performs Philip Glass. 2006 marks the Italian new music ensemble’s 15th anniversary as an ensemble. Across Europe they are widely recognized as pioneers of new and experimental music.

On this 2-disc set, the group performs seminal Glass works including 4 world-premiere recordings. Featured pieces include: How Now, 600 Lines, Piece in the Shape of a Square, Gradus, Music in Similar Motion, Strung Out and Music in Contrary Motion with a total length of over 135 minutes music.