Glass Piano Music
Ruhr Festival Piano
Four Movements for Two Pianos (world premiere recording); Etudes for Piano, The Hours


Orange Mountain Music OMM0060


1.Movement I – Four Movements for Two Pianos
2. Movement II – Four Movements for Two Piano
3. Movement III – Four Movements for Two Pianos
4. Movement IV – Four Movements for Two Pianos
5. Etude No. 1
6. Etude No. 2
7. Etude No. 3
8. Etude No. 4
9. Etude No. 5
10. Etude No. 6
11. Morning Passages from The Hours
12. Escape! from The Hours
13. The Poet Acts from The Hours


Philip Glass’ long-time champion Dennis Russell Davies teams with pianist maki Namekawa to perform Glass’ music for piano. This release includes the premiere recording of “Four Movements for Two Pianos” by Dennis Russell Davies and Maki Namekawa which the two pianists played at the Ruhr Piano Festival in 2008. The album also includes Davies’ performing the original six Glass piano études, and Namekawa playing three selections from Glass’ score to The Hours.


Executive producers for Orange Mountain Music: Philip Glass, Kurt Munkacsi and Don Christensen

For Orange Mountain Music: Richard Guerin

Recording: (Tracks 1-14) Philharmonie Essen (Germany), 7 July 2008 (Live); Recording Producer & Editing: Christoph Martin Frommen; (Tracks 5-13) Brucknerhaus Linz (Austria) November 2008, Recording Producer & Editing: Erich Pintar, Studio Weinberg, Kefermarkt (Austria); Mastering: Christoph Martin Frommen

Four Movements for Two Pianos and Six Etudes for Piano are published by Dunvagen Music Publishers – ASCAP
Music from The Hours is published by Famous Music Corp. (ASCAP)