The Music of Philip Glass and Foday Musa Suso
From the Philip Glass Recording Archive Vol.VI : The Screens
Violin – Benjamin Hudson
Flute and Piccolo – Michael Parloff
Clarinet – Allen Blustine
Cello – Jerry Grossman
Keyboards – Martin Goldray
Percussion – Rex Benincasa
Music Director and Conductor – Martin Goldray


Orange Mountain Music OMM0066
UPC 801837006629


1. The Call 2:27
2. Waiting 1:50
3. African Promenade 2:51
4. The Wayside 2:22
5. Night Dance 2:47
6. NY Twilight 2:12
7. Off Chance 2:50
8. The Ropes 3:28
9. Meeting Marlowe 2:39
10. Tea Time 1:39
11. New Combo 3:01
12. Outerlude 7:09
13. East Village Campsite 2:02
14. After the Pain 1:17
15. Suso’s Song 2:40
16. Afternoon Waltz 1:54
17. Philip’s Song 2:04
18. Foday’s Hometown 4:10
19. Beautiful Girl (live bonus track) 5:39
20. Long Life (live bonus track) 4:13


The Screens, Jean Genet’s last and greatest stage work was first seen in Paris in 1966 at the Theatre Odeon. This landmark work appeared as nothing short of a theatrical explosion during its premiere performances, complete with riots and grandarmerie. The present score, composed collaboratively by myself and Foday Musa Suso, was written for a production of The Screens presented at The Guthrie Theatre, Minneapolis, and directed by JoAnne Akalaitis in November 1989. The play takes place in the early 1960’s in Algeria during the revolutionary struggle for independence from France. In the process of combining themes of colonialism, exploitation and the European notion of “Arab-ness,” Genet has given us a rich and enduring dramatic vision.

JoAnne Akalaitis had originally asked Suso to do the score in collaboration with a western composer. I heard of the project and volunteered myself as Suso’s musical partner. We had known each other for some time having traveled together in Africa in the mid-80’s as preparation for my recording of the film Powaqqatsi. In fact, when it came time to record that score, Suso participated as a performer and made some original contributions as well. With this as a background we went to work.

The idea of combining Western and African musical traditions, of course, came from the play itself. JoAnne joined us in the recording studio and we followed her through the script, composing music for each scene as she described for us how she would devise the staging. That meant that either Suso or I would begin the composition and then add to it the contributions of the other composer as things progressed. Besides this “back and forth” kind of collaboration, we each contributed individual pieces as well. The result is, to my mind, the closest I had come at that point to a real collaboration with another composer. The music for The Screens is clearly something neither Suso or I could have done alone and was full of surprises for the both of us.

The present recording was made about a year after The Guthrie Theatre production and contains almost all the music of the original production as well as some new material. In returning to the studio, we had the opportunity to rethink some of the music and to include Suso’s original performances as well.

– Philip Glass

From the Philip Glass Archive is a series of releases from Orange Mountain Music which seeks to document archival and unreleased material or reissue classic albums by Philip Glass. The current volume, the sixth, features a collaboration between Glass and African musician Foday Musa Suso from a score they both worked on in the 1990s. The work was incidental music to the play “The Screens” by Jean Genet and was directed by JoAnne Akalaitis. Glass described the collaboration as the closest thing he had come to at that point of a true collaboration with both artists contributing original pieces and both working on many in the score together. “The Screens” was originally released on Point Music in the late 1990s. Orange Mountain Music is also pleased to present this remastered version with the inclusion of two bonus tracks of Philip Glass and Foday Musa Suso live, recorded in New York in 2009.


Produced by Kurt Munkacsi for Euphorbia Productions

Engineered by Laura Fried

Recorded and Mixed at the Looking Glass Studios, NYC
Philip Glass and Foday Musa Suso Live
Recorded by Dan Dryden at the City Winery, NYC 10-09
Edited and Mixed by Dan Bora and Don Christensen
cover photo “Stone Screen” by Jeff Rozwadowski

All music copyright 1991, 2009 Dunvagen Music Publishers, Inc (ASCAP) and Suso Music (BMI)

Executive producers for Orange Mountain Music: Philip Glass, Kurt Munkacsi and Don Christensen