Directed by Scott Hicks
Music by Philip Glass


Orange Mountain Music OMM0054


1. “Knee 1” from Einstein on the Beach 2:25
2. “Train 1” from Einstein on the Beach 6:15
3. “Knee 4” from Einstein on the Beach 2:41
4. “Aria” from Einstein on the Beach 2:53
5. “Etoile Polaire” from Analog 2:53
6. ”Mon Pere, Mon Pere” from Analog 3:56
7. “Are Years What?” from Analog 4:04
8. “Etude No.2” from Etudes for Piano, Vol.I, Nos 1-10 4:54
9. “Houston Skyline” from Music from The Thin Blue Line 4:44
10. “Movement I – A Musical Portrait of Chuck Close” from Portraits 4:17
11. ”Melody 11 – Melodies for Saxophone” from Saxophone 1:14
12. “Movement I” from Symphony No.8 19:27
13. ”Orphée’s Bedroom” from The Orphée Suite for Solo Piano 1:40
14. ”Orphée and the Princess” from The Orphée Suite for Solo Piano 4:37
15. “Floe” from Glassworks Soundtrack 8:44
16. ”Metamorphosis No.2″ (Shot Live by Scott Hicks) 2:49


For 18 months director Scott Hicks (Shine, No Reservations) followed composer Philip Glass around with a video camera capturing all aspects of his life. His film provides an intimate look at Glass as a family man, delves into his spiritual life and produces some insights on how he composes music.
Orange Mountain Music’s soundtrack to “GLASS: A Portrait of Philip in Twelve Parts” contains much of the music from the film including a wide variety of music from every part of Philip Glass’s career.
Included on this collection are selections from Einstein on the Beach, Etoile Polaire, Glass’ music for solo piano, and more.


Executive Producers of the Soundtrack Album: Scott Hicks, Stephen Jess and Jessica Beiler

Produced by Don Christensen and Michael Riesman

Mastered by Michael Riesman

Edited at the Looking Glass Studios, NYC, by Ichiho Nishiki

Key Cover Artwork designed by Scott Heysen

Executive producers for Orange Mountain Music:
Philip Glass, Kurt Munkacsi and Don Christensen

Associate Director Orange Mountain Music: Richard Guerin

Philip Glass music is published by Dunvagen Music Publishers ASCAP